Pulpo

Standard
Pulpo Olivia Laws Crochet 2015

Pulpo
Olivia Laws
Crochet
2015

I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for octopi. They’re one of my favorite animals, right after monkies and narwhals. So when I needed an idea for a sculpture to make for my university’s annual student art show I came up with this: Puplo.

The sketch below shows the original plans for Pulpo. I sketched it out during my 3D design class, hence the popsicle stick sculpture in the background.

Quick sketch of the idea for Pulpo

Quick sketch of the idea for Pulpo

The color scheme for Pulpo was inspired by the wonderful crochet sculptor, Yulia Ustinova. You can check out her facebook page here. Yulia uses variegated yarn colors to keep her sculptures from looking too “doll like.” While I didn’t use completely variegated yarns I did use Red Heart’s blacklight (a super bright rainbow variegation) consistently throughout the rows and changed colors randomly throughout to give it a “variegated feel.” By taking a page from Yulia’s book and going with a variegated, less natural, color pallet it kept my octopus from looking too childish and more like an art object than a stuffed animal. At least I hope it did 😛

Pulpo taking a break in an easy chair. He's almost too big to fit!

Pulpo taking a break in an easy chair. He’s almost too big to fit!

The name for Pulpo was inspired by one of my Instagram followers. When I first shared a photo of my octopus with my followers she commented “Pulpo.” At the time I didn’t know what it meant so I had to google it and found out that pulpo is the spanish word for octopus. After that it just felt right to start calling him Pulpo and the name stuck.

All in all it took me about 2 months to crochet Pulpo. Fun fact: he only has 7 tentacles for artistic reasons (there wasn’t enough room for the 8th one and I didn’t want to squeeze it in and make it look all weird and squished) I estimate that I used at least 12 skeins of yarn but probably more and filled it with an entire 10 pound box of Poly-fil stuffing.

If you’re interested in purchasing Pulpo you can check him out in my shop here

One thought on “Pulpo

Leave a Reply

